“Don’t worry, I already have everything I need for a triathlon” and other lies I told myself


When I decided to take the plunge and sign up for the Indiana Muncie 70.3 (Half Ironman race) this July 15, I told myself (and my husband) that it wouldn’t cost that much because I “already had everything I needed”.  Ha!  I seem to have forgotten that doing triathlons, like owning a boat, is something that always requires new investments.  First off, a coach.  I debated endlessly on getting one or not, but finally succumbed to it after reading 3-4 books on training and having no idea what workouts to do.  Coaches are expensive and will be paying >$150/mo to get coached.  This better be worth it (or I will have to get a second job at Starbucks).   Secondly, a GPS watch.  I had been operating with my cell phone to track my time, pace and other running related things for my Flying Pig Half Marathon training.  The problem is that it is incredibly inconvenient.  Since I’m running in cold weather, I would have to peel off my glove, open the back zipper of my running tights, wedge my phone out of there, enter the code, find the app- all of this without falling on my face or getting run over by a car.  After my sweet husband got me a heart rate monitor for my birthday, I decided to take the plunge and get a fully-triathlon ready watch that can handle running, swimming and biking.  I got the Garmin Forerunning 920x, which I really like, with the only exception that it’s HUGE! It constantly smacks into my wrist or gets caught in my clothes.  Thirdly: I need a new wetsuit.  This I knew when I signed up, but wetsuits are expensive (>$200 for a good one).    Fourth: after my first re-acquaintance with my bike & the bike trainer left me with numb hands and feet (and an achy bottom), I decided to get my bike fit.  I can’t train for 5 months on a bike that makes me miserable, but that was $200.

It’s only the first month and this sport has already wrangled me out of $600!  So much for “I already have everything I need”.  Sheesh.  (Sorry, hubby).

Leave a Reply

